Thompson & Thomas, P.A. Menu Contact
Free Initial Consultation
561-651-4150

What you may not know about workers’ compensation

Workers’ compensation isn’t something people like to think about. If you’re lucky, you’ll never need it.

However, it’s important to know your rights under Florida workers’ compensation. You can know what to expect should you ever need to file a claim.

Here are a few details about Florida workers’ compensation that you should know:

There are deadlines

In Florida, workers have up to 30 days to submit a compensation request to their employer. If your injury turns out to be worse than you thought or you need more treatment than you initially believed, this extended deadline can be useful.

Of course, it usually benefits you to submit a claim as soon as possible. The faster you inform your employer, the sooner you will be able to receive your benefits.

Benefits come with waiting periods

There are some restrictions on workers’ compensation benefits in Florida. For injuries that heal within 22 days of the accident, benefits begin eight days after the claim.

If the injury lasts longer than 22 days, a person can request benefits from the first day of the injury.

It’s important to understand when you can expect payments, and budget accordingly.

Pay is limited

The current limit for compensation pay is $917 per week. To get this number, Florida averages the weekly pay of its residents. This rate is recalculated yearly.

This does not mean this number is guaranteed. Instead, it is a cap for the amount a person can receive in a week while on workers’ compensation.

The amount of money varies

The amount you will earn is dependent on your salary and how affected you are by the injury.

For instance, if you can still work through your injury but will not earn as much, workers’ compensation will pay 80 percent of the difference between your wages before an injury and the wages you earn after the injury.

If you are fully disabled for a time, then workers’ compensation will reimburse you 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly income.

Some doctors are off limits

Florida law requires doctors in workers' compensation claims to be authorized by insurance companies. Keep this in mind as you seek treatment, as you may not be able to go to your doctor.

Get the medical treatment you need, but know that some doctors won't qualify for coverage.

These are just a few of the general rules to be aware of before filing a workers’ compensation claim. Stipulations limit what you can earn and for how long.

If you’ve been injured at work and need help filing a workers’ compensation claim, a skilled attorney can help guide you through the process.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information